The state of Ohio requires that all operators of motor vehicles obtain a proper level of insurance to pay for damages that other drivers suffer in the event that the policyholder causes the accident. Drivers must carry both bodily liability insurance coverage and property damage liability coverage.
If you have been involved in a car accident with no insurance, you may be worried about your options moving forward. To help provide you with some clarification regarding the potential ramifications and options you may face, read on.
Ohio Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
The first thing that you will probably be burdened with if you were in a car accident with no insurance is a penalty. In Ohio, the fine for driving a car without the proper insurance coverage is the temporary revocation of your driver’s license (for a first offense), and a license reinstatement fee of $100. If you are involved in a car accident without insurance coverage, then you may face a security suspension of two years or more, and a judgment suspension indefinitely until damages are satisfied.
If You Were in a Car Accident with No Insurance & You Were at Fault
The scariest thing to an uninsured driving is being involved in an accident that was his fault, especially if the accident causes injuries or property damage to the other driver.
Ohio is what’s known as a tort state. In a tort state, the driver who is at fault in an accident is responsible for paying any and all damages that the other parties suffer. Additionally, the injured driver may pursue a lawsuit against the uninsured driver to recover damages for medical bills, lost wages, property damage, and more.
If you do not have insurance and the accident was your fault, you will be responsible for paying all damages to the other driver. So, if the driver requires $10,000 worth of medical expenses to correct an injury caused by the accident, you will be responsible for paying those expenses out of pocket. A judge may determine that you can make these payments in increments, or that your wages will be garnished to satisfy payment requirements.
Meanwhile, you may have to rely on your health insurance to cover your own medical bills or pay for your own expenses out of pocket.
If You Were in a Car Accident with No Insurance & You Weren’t at Fault
If the accident was the fault of the other driver, tort law will still apply, and the other driver will be responsible for paying any damages that you suffer, regardless of the fact that you are uninsured. However, you will still be responsible for penalties for driving without insurance.
You may be able to pursue a liability insurance claim, and even a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver. It’s important that you get the name and information of the other driver involved in the crash, as well as the police report. If you fail to obtain insurance information and/or a police report, you may impair your ability to recover damages from the other driver, whether you have your own insurance or not.
If you didn’t obtain a police report at the scene, you may report the accident yourself to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles to obtain a report, rely on witness testimony about the accident, and present other evidence. If you failed to get the other driver’s insurance info, you may contact that driver to obtain it, assuming you have his contact information. Your attorney can present you with other options if you failed to obtain this information at the accident scene.
Speak with an Attorney About Your Car Accident Today
Being in an accident can be a traumatizing experience, but may be even more so if you don’t have car insurance, and don’t know where to turn. If you were not at fault for the accident and you suffered serious damages, call an attorney to help you recover compensation.
At Kisling, Nestico & Redick, our attorneys are ready to take on your case today. To get started, call us now at 1-800-HURT-NOW.