Fatal car accidents involving children are declining in the United States, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The CDC reported that during the last 10 years, fatal crashes involving kids decreased by 43 percent. The CDC report is good news, but there is still more work to be done to keep children safe on the road.
One reason fewer children are involved in fatal car accidents is due to better state laws to keep children safe in vehicles. Many states, including Ohio, have laws that require parents to use car and booster seats until their children are a certain age or have reached a certain size. This could be one of the main reasons why fatal car accidents involving young children have declined over the years.
How long do children need to be in a car seat or booster seat in Ohio? Ohio law stipulates that car or booster seats must be used until a child turns 8 or until they reach the 4’9″ height requirement. Another important safety tip is to have children ride in the back seat until they are 13 or older. Although this tip isn’t a state law, it is important to follow to keep your kids safe in the event of a car accident.
What other safety tips should parents in Ohio know about to keep their kids safe? Listed below are some tips on using car and booster seats as well as some general safety information:
- Always wear your seat belt
- Young children should be in a rear-facing car seat until they turn 2
- Be sure to use the correct size car or booster seat depending on the size of your child
- Make sure you properly install car and booster seats
Source: WFMJ, “Fewer children are dying in traffic accidents,” March 4, 2014